Five Spartans earn All-Big Ten Honors

Kyle Hatty, Hockey Beat Reporter

The Big Ten released its postseason honors for the 2019-20 season and five Michigan State Spartans took home honors. There were a combined four Spartans on the first and second teams, which is the most in the conference.

Senior forward Patrick Khodorenko was the lone first-team selection after scoring 33 points his senior year, including 13 goals in conference play—most in the Big Ten. Michigan State also made up three out of the six spots on the second team with John Lethemon (who posted a .935 save percentage), Jerad Rosburg (who led the nation in blocked shots with 86) and Dennis Cesana (third highest scoring defenseman). Forward Mitchell Lewandowski received an honorable mention after his third straight 20-point season.

Khodorenko, Lethemon and Rosburg were all seniors last season, but Michigan State will return two honors award winners next season in Cesana and Lewandowski, who were both top three on the team in points last season.

Other notable award winners from around the conference were announced as well. Penn State’s Cole Hultz took home Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, Minnesota’s Bob Motzko took home Coach of the Year, and Michigan’s Strauss Mann won Goaltender of the Year. Wisconsin’s freshman phenom Cole Caufield—who was picked 15th overall in last year’s NHL entry draft— won Freshman of the Year and the scoring title with 19 goals and 17 assists for a total of 36 points.