Ghostface Killers | Offset, 21 Savage & Metro Boomin ft. Travis Scott


Gillian Searer

Nowadays in hip-hop it’s more normal for artists to randomly drop an album — or mixtape, or collaboration — than to give fans any warning of an upcoming release whatsoever. 21 Savage, Offset and Metro Boomin are yet another example of this highly-popularized trend with the release their collaborative project Without Warning. This project came as a complete surprise to the hip-hop community, dropping early Tuesday morning with no pre-released singles or song snippets. The aptly-named album dropped in the mix of an already successful year for each member of the trio, with Offset’s recent engagement to Cardi B, Metro Boomin’s label launch, and 21 Savage’s latest LP, Issa Album.

“Ghostface Killers,” the first track on the album, features Travis Scott and sets the tone for the rest of the album by laying down a variety of ruthless verses over a haunting Metro Boomin beat. Named after one of rap’s all-time greats and esteemed member of Wu-Tang Clan, Ghostface Killah, the trio boasts themes of being at the top of the rap food chain, as well as further references to Michael Jackson, Tom Cruise, and Kim Jong Un.

According to Genius, along with “Ric Flair Drip,” the third track on the album, “Ghostface Killers” seems to be standing out one of the project’s highest grossing singles. It seamlessly merges the styles of 21 Savage and Offset with hard hitting verses delivered by Travis Scott. Atlanta has been producing some of the biggest names in hip-hop as of late, and “Ghostface Killers” is another great example of the types of bangers to come from the region’s southern flair and swagger.

Check out the full album below.