Women’s Cross Country Finishes Undefeated Season as NCAA Champions

The women of Michigan State cross country ended a perfect season today in Terre Haute, Indiana as NCAA Champions.

This is the first national championship win in program history, finishing with 85 total team points, 62 points less than runner-up Iowa State.

The win is not only monumental for the program, but also for MSU. It is the first team national championship since 2007 when hockey won the title. It is only the second national championship win for a women’s team in school history.

In typical fashion for this season, the Spartans put four runners in the top 21, more than any other team, and is a testament to the depth of the team.

Rachele Schulist finished as the lead for MSU, placing fourth overall at 19:54. In a role reversal, Lindsay Clark was the next spartan to finish in 11th at 20:16 with Leah O’Connor finishing 17th at 20:20. Julie Otwell finished in 21st at 20:29 and Sara Kroll was the last team scorer in 61st at 20:56.

We will have more to come later today!

Official Results

Alexa McCarthy is the host of Last Leg for Impact Sports.

Photo: @MSUTrackFieldXC